Don't become bored having the same smoothie recipe over again. Try the combination of yummy ingredients to switch it up:
This is a GENERAL list and not specific to ALL alcoholic beverages. While distillation processes intend to rid alcohol of impurities, not all manufacturers are created equal. For someone who becomes ill and are highly sensitive, it's only a matter of my opinion that you abide by this list when it comes to liquor. Alcohol consumption is a personal decision and one I do not usually offer my opinion. The debate remains on the distilling process and many accept the consumption of liquor as gluten-free.
Here's a excerpt taken from Celiac.org:
"Most [alcoholic] beverages are gluten-free, including juices, sodas, and sports drinks. Alcoholic beverages, including wines and hard liquor/distilled liquors/hard ciders are also gluten-free. However, beers, ales, lagers, malt beverages, and malt vinegars that are made from gluten-containing grains are not distilled and therefore are not gluten-free. There are several brands of gluten-free beers available in the United States and abroad."
The checks with the "not safe box" (excluding beer) can be considered gluten-free with the proper elimination of all gluten. We catered this guide for the sake of those who seek to eliminate all possible triggers of their illness. For your knowledge, the checks indicating "not gluten-free" are based upon their origin of forbidden grains. Many people with celiac disease continue drinking these liquors with no detectable problems. However, if you really want to lose weight or have health issues that are not recovering, consider eliminating them.
For those with celiac disease who wish to enjoy alcohol, be certain to always read labels and investigate brands. Alcohol is a potential culprit for accidental gluten consumption. Although the major consensus states distillation rids gluten from liquor, evidence suggests that trace amounts may remain. Even if the gluten is eliminated it is possible that grains are added after the distillation process, especially in flavored alcohol.
Keep in mind, alcohol is managed by the government and not the FDA (so it can be taxed). Therefore, disclosure of information on alcoholic labels is not enforced. Bummer.... Bottom line, the manufacturer is not obliged to concern themselves with residual gluten in their products.
No matter what you drink, there’s still a chance you’ll wake up feeling like crap. At least this time it won’t be due to gluten.
If you love beer, I’ll start by apologizing. There’s no way getting around traditional beer’s main ingredients: wheat, barley and hops. Beer is brewed and not distilled, so there is no chance that beer could be remotely safe. There are however, increasingly popular cider beer alternatives. Also, be on the lookout for more alternatives made from sorghum (a gluten-free grain).
Woodchuck, Dogfish Head, Angry Orchard, New Grist
Red Wine: Yes
Red wine includes many options such as organic, sulfite free and can even be purchased found from sustainable farms. If for whatever reason you’re still drinking wine coolers, check the labels. Those are not always safe.
White Wine: Yes
Also a good option but does not contain as many beneficial factors as red wine.
Dinner is poured!
Champagne is sparkling wine with added yeast and sugar to create carbonation.
For people who want to be drunk AND classy!
Sake: Yes & No
Sake is rice wine usually served at sushi and Japanese restaurants. Rice wine you say, so it must be gluten free? Not always. Sake, especially the cheapo stuff, has added barley. Sake is fermented with Koji enzymes in addition to rice. The Koji enzymes are grown on Miso, which is usually made with barley unless stating otherwise. There are sake brands that specifically indicate whether it’s gluten free or not.
TKYU has great reviews and many options
Vodka: Yes & No
Vodka is primarily made from potatoes or distilled grains. For those with celiac disease or gluten allergies, stay away from anything that is not specifically labeled as gluten free.
Ciroc, VuQo, Tito’s Vodka
Rum: Yes & No
Rum is made from distilling fermented sugarcane juice or some other sugarcane byproduct. Like vodka, you never know what manufactures add during this process. It’s best to stick with the sugarcane juice version. A note from Malibu rum support service: “Malibu is made with Caribbean Rum. This rum is produced like all Caribbean Rums from Sugar Cane Molasses. The product is infused with coconut and sugar is added. There is no grain added.”
Malibu, 10 Cane Rum
Just no. The ingredients contain a concoction of all types of forbidden grains such as malt, barley, rye, and wheat. Next please!
Sorry Toby Keith…I hope your whisky girl isn’t gluten free
Bourbon is a type of whisky and we said no to that. Bourbon is primarily made from corn but also other grains.
I said no!
Scotch: Nope. Nope. Nope.
Scotch is also a whisky.
Scotch, scotch scotch, I hate scotch.
Gin: still no
Gin is whisky’s fruity cousin. It contains a grain mash in addition to berry or floral extracts.
Tequila : Yes
Tequila is made from agave plants. Stick to 100% agave or you’ll be drinking more than 50% sugar.
Brandy : Yes
Brandy is distilled wine. Be careful of the cheap brands that add caramel coloring.
Catoctin Creek Organic 1757 Virginia Brandy
Cognac is a variety of brandy that meets certain requirements such a grape type, distilling, and aging processes.
There's nothing wrong with throwing a few back after a long day. Pop champagne, take some tequila shots, or cozy up to red wine.
Enjoy and do what's best for YOU, your happiness, and your health.